Documentation

Make a page private

How to make a page private

Use these instructions to make a page completely private. You must have View & edit permission on the page to make it private. When you make a page private, no other users can see it, no matter what the security settings are. When you make a page private, all of its sub-pages become private too. If you are a page editor and you make a page private, even you will not be able to see it - only the page owner can see it when it is private!

Do be aware that your intranet administrator has special powers, and so is able to view private pages. So don't put anything on a private page that you wouldn't want your intranet administrator to see!

8.0User15649Private.jpg

When you view one of your private pages, a Private label appears across the top of the page header. Every page you set as private shows up on your profile page under the list of Private Pages

Make a page private 

  1. Make sure you are the owner of the page. If you are only a page editor and not the page owner, the page will disappear from your view when you make it private.
  2. Click the Edit button (pencil icon) to go into edit mode. (Or, if you are just creating a page and are already in edit mode, proceed to Step 3.)
  3. Select the Private checkbox just below the Publish button. (The Publish button will become a Save button when you select the Private checkbox.)

    8.0User12070PrivateCheckbox.jpg
     
  4. Continue editing or click Save.
Now your page will appear with a Private label across the top of the page header. Your page will not show in navigation, search results or recent activity for other users. However, you will see it in all those areas with the word Private beside the title.

Make a page public

If you have already made a page private, follow these instructions to make it public again. You must be a page owner or admin to make a private page public. If you are not the page owner, you will not be able to see the page when it is private.
  1. Click the Edit button (pencil icon) to go into edit mode.
  2. Uncheck the Private checkbox just below the Save button. (The Save button becomes the Publish button when you uncheck the Private box.)

    8.5User17646Public.jpg
     
  3. Continue editing or click Publish.

Private/public status inheritance

If you add a subpage to a private page, it will automatically be private because it inherits the private status of its parent page. If you add a subpage to a public page, it will automatically be public because it inherits the public status of its parent page. (This is the default setting, however your intranet admin can change a setting to make new pages default to private. To learn more, see Make new pages Private by default.)

If a page is private because it inherited the private status of it's parent page, it will automatically become public if moved under a public parent page. In edit mode, it is indicated when a page is private because it is inheriting its private status from its parent page. You will see a note indicating this under the Save button.

9.3User105764PrivatePageMessage.png

If a page is private because it was specifically set to private, then it will remain private even if moved under a public parent page. A page specifically set to private will not have the note in the image above.

If a page is public, and it is moved underneath a private page, it will become private as well. This is true regardless of whether the page inherits its security settings from its parent page or not.