Documentation

Add & remove group members

How to add and remove members of groups

Use these instructions to add and remove members from groups on your ThoughtFarmer intranet and to sync group page membership with Active Directory security groups. When you add someone to a group, a bunch of cool changes happen.

Changes triggered by being a group member:

  1. Listed on group page under "Members".
  2. Added to "Email group" list.
  3. Link to the group shows on profile page.
  4. Link to the group show in Your Groups menu in the Application Toolbar.
  5. Activity from the group shows up under Highlights and Your groups activity tabs on homepage.
  6. News from group page News Cards shows in personalized homepage news.
To learn about adding yourself to a group from your profile page, see the Relationships & Groups heading on the Basic profile info page.

Difference between Open vs. Managed membership

See the explanation of Open and Managed membership on How to create group pages.

Add members in edit mode

  1. Click the Edit button (pencil icon) in the page header on the group page to go into edit mode.
  2. Click View/change under the Membership heading to bring up the Group members pop-up window.

    8.0User15697Membership.jpg

    add%20group%20members.png
  3. Click in the Enter names box.
  4. Start typing the name of a person you want to add to the group, and click on their name when it appears in the dropdown menu.
  5. Repeat step 4 to select more people to add to the group.
  6. Click Add.
  7. Click Done in the pop-up window.
  8. Continue editing the group page or click Save at the top of the page.

Remove members in edit mode

  1. Click the Edit button (pencil icon) in the page header on the group page to go into edit mode.
  2. Click View/change under the Membership heading to bring up the Group Members pop-up window.
  3. Scroll through the list of group members to find the person you want to remove. (Names are in alphabetical order by first name.)
  4. Click the X to the right of the person's name to remove them.

    remove%20member.png
     
  5. Repeat steps 3 and 4 to remove more group members.
  6. Click Done in the pop-up window.
  7. Continue editing the group page or click Save at the top of the page.

Add or remove all users from a group

If you create a group where you want all users or the majority of users to be members, the following steps to add all users make it easy:
  1. Click the Edit button (pencil icon) in the page header on the group page to go into edit mode.
  2. Click View/change under the Membership heading to bring up the Group Members pop-up window.
  3. On the bottom right of the window, click the Bulk operations menu.
    1. To add all users, select Add all users from the menu that appears.
    2. To remove all users, select Remove all users from the menu that appears.

      bulk%20member%20actions.png
       
  4. Click Done in the pop-up window.
  5. Continue editing the group page or click Save at the top of the page.

Add a user to groups

Administrators can add a user to groups, including Managed groups, by editing a user's profile. In Edit Profile on the user's profile page, click the Relationships & groups section, click in the Groups field, start typing the name of the Group, and click on it when it appears in the dropdown menu. Click Save to save the changes.

Sync membership with Active Directory security group

The following instructions must be completed by an intranet administrator. They are included here so all intranet users know that it is possible to synchronize group membership with an Active Directory security group. With this sync set up, any updates to the list in Active Directory will automatically change the membership on the group page.
  1. Enter Admin mode.
  2. Click Edit on the group page.
  3. Select the radio button for the Closed membership option.
  4. A dropdown field, Add group to sync, will appear. From it, select the group with which you wish to sync the membership, and click the Add button. Repeat to add more groups to sync with.

    8.0User15697Closed.jpg
     
  5. Continue editing or click Save at the top of the page.
The above instructions are different than using group page membership to create ThoughtFarmer security groups. To learn more, see Use group membership for security.

Learn more: