Documentation

Purge deleted information

Purge deleted users and pages from your intranet

When pages or users are deleted from ThoughtFarmer, they are still recoverable by intranet administrators using the Restore content or User management pages of the administration panel.

However it is possible to permanently delete pages and users from the database, using the Purge deleted information page. You may want to purge deleted information if limited disk space is a concern. It is strongly recommended that you have an up-to-date backup prior to purging the database.

You will not be able to purge users who still have comments posted on the intranet. (When a user is deleted, their comments show as being posted by "Deleted user", however the comments are still connected to that user profile.) Deleting all of a user's comments will allow you to purge that user, but this may leave fragmented conversations on your intranet. If you want to purge users while retaining comments they have posted, contact ThoughtFarmer support for assistance with this.

Purge deleted users

Caution! Performing this action will permanently delete information from the database and render that information unrecoverable.
  1. Go to the Admin panelContent section > Purge deleted information page.
  2. Under the Users heading, click in the date boxes and select new dates to purge users deleted between.
  3. The number of users to be purged is indicated above the Purge deleted users button.
  4. Click on the Purge deleted users button to permanently delete deleted users.
  5. Click OK to confirm the purge.

Purge deleted pages

Caution! Performing this action will permanently delete information from the database and render that information unrecoverable.
  1. Go to the Admin panelContent section > Purge deleted information page.
  2. Under the Pages heading, click in the date boxes and select new dates to purge pages deleted between.
  3. The number of pages to be purged is indicated above the Purge deleted pages button.
  4. Click on the Purge deleted pages button to permanently delete deleted pages.
  5. Click OK to confirm the purge.

Purge deleted forms and entries

Caution! Performing this action will permanently delete information from the database and render that information unrecoverable.
  1. Go to the Admin panelContent section > Purge deleted information page.
  2. Under the Forms & Entries heading, click in the date boxes and select new dates to purge forms and entries deleted between.
  3. The number of forms and entries to be purged is indicated above the Purge deleted forms button.
  4. Click on the Purge deleted forms button to permanently delete deleted forms and entries.
  5. Click OK to confirm the purge.

Status indicator

The Status will say different things depending on the state of the purge.
  • Idle: No purge is currently running.
  • Processing # out of #: Indicates how far along the purge is in the total number of items to be purged.
  • Error (with a message): Indicates the purge has encountered an error and provides an error message.