Documentation

Activate Profile only users

How to activate Profile only users

A user with the status Profile only is one that was created without a password. The user has no ability to log in to ThoughtFarmer. You can activate a Profile only user by either inviting them through email, or by specifying a temporary password for them.

Profile only users do not count against your license count, but they will take up a license once they are invited or a temporary password is set for their account. To learn more about Profile only users, see Create Regular users.

Activate Profile only users through email invitation

Users must have an email address specified on their account before you can activate them by email invitation. Activate them by completing the following:
  1. Go to the ThoughtFarmer Administration Panel: Users & security section > User management page.
  2. Use the filter, sort, and query tools to find the user or set of users you wish to activate (see Find Users for more info).
     
    8.7Admin102752FindUser.png
     
  3. Select the checkbox beside the user(s) you wish to activate.
  4. In the "Choose an action..." dropdown select Invite user to activate account.
  5. Click Go.

Activate a single Profile only user by specifying a temporary password

  1. Go to the ThoughtFarmer Administration Panel: Users & security section > User management page.
  2. Use the filter, sort, and query tools to find the user or set of users you wish to activate (see Find Users for more info).
  3. Click the gear icon in the Action column to the right of the user, and click Edit account in the menu that opens.
  4. In the Password section select Temporary password.
     
    5.5Admin6158ActivatePendingPassword4.png
     
  5. Fill in a temporary password for the user.
  6. Click Save.
You can now send the user their login username and password manually. They will be required to change this temporary password the next time they log in. If you do not need the user to change their password on next login you can cancel this by using the Cancel force password change action on the User Management page.