Documentation

How to archive or delete a page

How to archive or delete an intranet page (and its subpages)

Use these instructions to archive or delete an intranet page. Archive and delete pages to help keep your intranet tidy and uncluttered. Archived pages are content that is not currently relevant to most users of the intranet. Users can choose to show or hide archived content, so archived items can still be viewed when necessary.

When you archive or delete a page you automatically archive or delete any subpages or attached files, as well as comments. When you delete a page, you won't have access to any sort of "Recycle Bin," so try to be sure you can really get rid of a page before you click the "Delete" button.

Choose to show or hide archived content

Users can choose to show or hide archived content from view on the intranet. When archived content is hidden, it will not show in navigation or recent activity. Archived content is always excluded from search results, but at the top of search results, an option is available to show any archived items found in the search.
7.0User9790HideArchivedContent.png
  • Step 1: Click the drop down arrow next to your profile in the application toolbar.
  • Step 2: Click "Show (or Hide) archived content" to have that action take place. Your view will refresh to put the new setting in effect.

Archive a page

Archive content on your intranet that is no longer current. When you archive a page, any subpages, attached files or comments will also be archived. If you don't see the "Archive" option, click "More Actions" below the "Add" button on the right, and the "Archive" option will appear.
  • Step 1: Navigate to the page that you want to archive.
  • Step 2: Click "Archive" on the right hand side of the page. The page will refresh with the word "Archived" beside the title.
6.5User7955Archived.png
If you have chosen to "hide archived content", when you archive a page it will immediately disappear from your navigation. This means that if you navigate away from the archived page, you won't be able to navigate back to it, unless you choose to "show archived content".

Set an "expiry date" to automatically archive content

Any time after adding a page, you can set a date for the page to archive. You might set a page with details on a company social event to archive after that event has happened. Keep in mind that if you set a date for a page to archive, any pages below it will also be archived on that date.
  • Step 1: In edit mode, click on "All settings" in the bottom right of the settings area.
  • Step 2: Click on "Archive" on the left side of the dialog box.
  • Step 3: Click in the box beside "Archive page on:" and select the date you want the page to archive on. (Scroll from month to month by clicking on the triangles beside the month, and click on a calendar day to select the date.)
  • Step 4: Click "Done" at the bottom right of the dialog.
  • Step 5: Continue editing or click "Save" at the top right of the page.
To set a date to archive a file or folder, access the edit page by clicking the down arrow on the far right of the file or folder name, and click "Edit properties". Then follow the above steps.

 

Delete a page

Remember that when you delete a page, any subpages, attached files or comments will also be deleted.
  • Step 1: Click "Delete" on the right hand side of the page.
  • Step 2: In the dialog box that appears click "OK" to confirm you want to delete the page. Click "Cancel" if you didn't mean to delete the page.
  • Step 3: When you delete a page the intranet will complete the deletion and refresh your screen showing the page above the one you deleted.
If you don't see the "Delete" option, click "More Actions" below the "Add" button on the right, and the "Delete" option will appear.

Restore a page

If you need to bring back a page that you have archived or deleted, see How to restore or undelete a page.