Documentation

How to use version control

How to use version control and view changes to a page

Your intranet keeps track of every version of every page and file on your intranet (somebody's got to do it!). Use these instructions to view past versions of a page, see the changes that have been made to each version of a page, and revert the page to a previous version. You will need edit permission on a page in order to do this.

Version control on your ThoughtFarmer intranet page is like the "Track Changes" tool in Microsoft Word and allows you to collaborate with other people in creating pages. Since only one person can edit a page at a time, you'll never have conflicting page versions. If you try to edit the page when someone else is editing it, the intranet will tell you exactly who is editing it and even suggest you try back a little later.

Each time a page is edited and saved, the intranet creates a new version of the page. You can see exactly what colleagues have added to the page and what they have deleted. You can also revert to an earlier version of a page if you prefer not to keep the changes most recently made. 

View past versions of a page & edits made 

  7.1User10438ViewChanges.jpg
 
  • Step 1: Go to the right side of the page (not in edit mode) and click once on the "Version history" link just below the page's "Tags" listing in the page information portlet. This will display a list of all the versions of a page. 
  • Step 2: Click "View changes" next to the version of the page you want to review. This will show you a copy of that version of the page with any added text highlighted and any deleted text with a line through it (strikethrough).
  • Step 3: To return to the normal page view either click the "Cancel" button at the bottom of the list of page versions or click on the number for the most recent page version.

Revert to a previous version of the page 

  • Step 1: Go to the right side of the page (not in edit mode) and click once on the "Version history" link just below the page's "Tags" listing in the page information portlet. This will display a list of all the versions of a page.
  • Step 2: Click once on the page version number itself (example: 5) for the page version you want to go back to. This will bring up that page version exactly as it appeared.
  7.0User9713Revert.png
  • Step 3: At the bottom of the list of page versions click the "Revert" button. The page will reload with the old version now showing.
  • NOTE that no changes are lost: When you revert to a previous page version you don't lose any changes. A copy of that earlier page version is duplicated to create a new page version and you can still see the edits made to all previous versions.