Documentation

Page Sharing Buttons

Share intranet pages with others

The Page Sharing Buttons contain multiple ways to share information and tell other people that you liked it. You'll find the Page Sharing Buttons in the page header. They're usually on the left, but their position in the page header may change depending on what size of device you are using to viewing the page.

page%20sharing%20buttons.png

Like

Clicking the Like icon (a thumbs up) lets others know that you enjoyed a page or found it useful. The number of people that have liked a page shows below the like icon. Hover over the number to see a pop-up list of people who like the page. Click on the number of Likes to see a list of the people who like that page, with profile photos. Once you click the Like (or thumbs up) icon, it is filled in to show that you like the page. If you click on the Like icon by mistake, just click on it again to remove your Like.

like.png

Depending on the settings that your intranet administrator has chosen, clicking the Like icon may increase the likelihood of that page showing higher in relevant search results.

Follow

Clicking the Follow icon (a flag) on a page means that you will receive in-app notifications in the Application Toolbar when changes are made to the page. When you click the Follow icon, the icon is filled in to show that you are following the page. To Unfollow a page, click the Follow icon again. Depending on your profile settings, you may automatically start following a page when you add, edit, favorite, or comment on a page. You may also receive email notifications when changes are made to pages you follow, if you have selected that in your profile settings. For more information, see Overview of following and notifications and How to change following and notification settings.

follow.png

The number under the notification flag indicates how many people are following the page. Hover over the number to see a pop-up list of people who are following the page. Click on the number of Followers to see a list of the people who follow that page, with their titles and profile photos. If you have edit permission on the page, you can add and remove people from that list by clicking "Edit list" in the pop-up window. For more information, see How to add or remove page followers.

Bookmark

Clicking the Bookmark icon (a star) means that the page will be added to your Bookmarks menu in the Application Toolbar, and to your Bookmarks Card, if one is configured on your intranet. You can access your bookmarked pages easily from any page on the intranet using the Bookmarks menu. When you click the Bookmark icon, the icon is filled in to show that you have bookmarked the page. To delete a Bookmark, click the bookmark icon on the page again, or go to the Bookmarks menu and click the garbage can icon beside the bookmark you want to delete.

bookmarks%20hover.png

The number under the Bookmark icon indicates how many people have bookmarked the page. Hover over the number to see a pop-up list of people who have bookmarked the page. Click on the number to see a list of the people who have bookmarked that page, with their profile photos.

Export to Word

The Export options are not available for all pages. Clicking the Export icon (an arrow coming out of a box) and selecting "Export to Word" exports the title and main body content of the page (including images and tables) to a Microsoft Word file. This allows you to edit the information from the intranet page in Word, and then share it with people that don't have access to the intranet. The Word file also has metadata about the page at the bottom of each page.

export.png

For more information see How to export to PDF or Word.

Export to PDF

The Export options are not available for all pages. Clicking the Export icon (an arrow coming out of a box) and selecting "Export to PDF" exports the title and main body content of the page (including images and tables) to a PDF file. This allows you to share information on an intranet page with people that don't have access to the intranet. The PDF file also has metadata about the page at the bottom of each page.

For more information see How to export to PDF or Word.

Email

Clicking the export icon and selecting "Email" opens the default email program on your computer, and creates an email inviting the recipient to view the intranet page via a link in the email. This allows you to easily share a particular page with a coworker or anyone else that has access to the intranet.

For more information see How to email a page.

Translate

Clicking the translate icon allows you to choose to see an translated version of the page if one exists on your intranet.

For more information see the Languages and translation section.