Documentation

Updates and Messages

Communicate through Updates and Messages

It's easy to share an update to let your colleagues know what you're working on, that you're stepping out of the office, when you're going on holidays, or whatever update you want to post. You can send an update that will appear in everyone's homepage activity, or direct an update just to a specific group. You can also send an update as a message to a specific person.

How to share an update with everyone from the homepage

It's easy to share an update from the homepage to communicate something to all of your colleagues.
  1. Find the Activity Card on the homepage.
  2. Click in the Share an update text box beside your profile photo at the top of the Activity Card.
  3. Type your update in the text box.
  4. Below your update it indicates who it will be visible to. Click on Select a group and click on Everyone to send the update to everyone.
  5. Click on the Share button to send your update. 

    share%20update%20home%202.png

Share an update with everyone from your profile page

You can also share an update from your profile page.
  1. Find the Activity Card on your profile page.
  2. Click on the Updates tab.
  3. Click in the Share an update box beside your profile photo.
  4. Type your update in the text box.
  5. Below your update it indicates who it will be visible to. Click on Select a group and click on Everyone to send the update to everyone.
  6. Click on the Share button to send your update. 

How to share an update with a group

You can share an update with a group to send a message to a specific group of people. An update you send to a group will show up in the Activity on the group page, in the Homepage Activity of group members, and in the Activity and Updates on your Profile page. Note that your update will be visible to anyone who visits the group page, not just group members.

There are three ways to share an update with a group:
  1. Visit the group page and share an update in the Activity Card on the group page,
  2. From the homepage, share an update with any group you are a member of,
  3. From your profile page, share an update with any group you are a member of.

Share an update with a group from the group page

Updates shared on a group page only go to the group.
  1. Navigate to the group page, and find the Activity Card on the group page.
  2. Click in the Share an update text box beside your profile photo at the top of the Activity Card.
  3. Type your update in the text box. Below your update it indicates that it will be visible to the group whose page you are on.
  4. Click on the Share button.

     share%20from%20group.png 
     

Share an update with a group from homepage or profile page

When you share an update with a group from the homepage or your profile page, you have to make sure to select the group that you want to send the update to.
  1. Find the Activity Card on the homepage (or your profile page).
  2. Click in the text box beside your profile photo at the top of the Activity Card.
  3. Type your update in the text box.
  4. Click on the dropdown below your profile photo that says Select a group.
  5. In the menu that opens, click on the group that you want to send the update to. The To Select a group text will change to indicate that the update is going to your group.
  6. Click on the Share button.

    share%20update%20home.png
     

How to send a message to a colleague

You can leave a message for a coworker on their profile page, and they will see it in the Highlights or Updates tabs of their Homepage activity, or in the Updates tab on their profile page. Note that these messages are not private - they can be viewed by everyone on the intranet.
  1. Go to the profile page of the colleague that you want to send a message to.
  2. Find the Activity Card on their profile page.
  3. Click in the text box beside your profile photo at the top of the Activity Card. (You must be in the Messages tab, which is the default tab that is open when you view another person's profile page.)
  4. Type your message in the text box.
  5. Click on the Share button to send your message

    message%20someone.png

Edit an update or message

When you share an update or message, you can edit it for two minutes (or whatever time limit your intranet admin chooses) after you hit Share. If you need to edit your update, click the three dots on the top right of the update, and click Edit for 2 mins in the menu that opens.

8.0User12090EditUpdate.jpg

View, Bookmark or Follow an update or message

Because other users can comment on, like and follow your updates, they can become their own conversation that you'll want to check on and perhaps note for future reference. Click the three dots in the top right of an update or message to open a menu where you can access these actions.

8.0User12090UpdateMenu.jpg