Documentation

Archive & delete pages

How to archive or delete an intranet page (and its subpages)

Use these instructions to archive or delete an intranet page. Archive and delete pages to help keep your intranet tidy and uncluttered. Archived pages are content that is not currently relevant to most users of the intranet. Archived content is hidden from users by default, but users can choose to show or hide archived content from their view, so archived items can still be viewed when necessary.

When you archive or delete a page you automatically archive or delete any subpages or attached files, as well as comments. When you delete a page, you won't have access to any sort of "Recycle Bin" to retrieve the page from, so try to be sure you can really get rid of a page before you click the Delete button.

Choose to show or hide archived content

While archived content is hidden by default, users can choose to show or hide archived content from view on the intranet. When archived content is hidden, it will not show in navigation or recent activity. Archived content is always excluded from search results, but at the top of search results, an option is available to show any archived items found in the search.

Hide_archive_content.png
  1. Click on your name and photo on the top right of any page to open the dropdown menu.
  2. Click Show (or Hide) archived content to have that action take place. Your view will refresh to put the new setting in effect.
If you have chosen to show archived content, it will appear in navigation with the word Archived beside the title.

Archive a page

Archive content on your intranet that is no longer current. When you archive a page, any subpages, attached files or comments will also be archived. 

8.0User15620Archive.jpg
  1. Navigate to the page that you want to archive.
  2. Click the down arrow on the right of the page header to open the Page Controls.
  3. Click Archive. The page will refresh with an Archived label across the page header.
If you have chosen to hide archived content, when you archive a page it will disappear from your navigation. This means that if you navigate away from the archived page, you won't be able to navigate back to it, unless you choose to show archived content.

Set an "expiry date" to automatically archive content

Any time after adding a page, you can set a date for the page to archive. You might set a page with details on a company social event to archive after that event has happened. Keep in mind that if you set a date for a page to archive, any pages below it will also be archived on that date.

The auto-archive feature is the only way to archive a link in the navigation. Because links in the navigation do not have a "view" state like a regular page, there is no Archive option for them in the Page Controls. To learn more, see the Set a date to archive the link heading on the Add link in navigation page.

Set_archive_date.png
 
  1. In edit mode, click on Set archive date under Publishing options on the right.
  2. Use the arrows on the calendar that appears to navigate to the archive date. Click on the date you want the page to archive.
  3. The archive date you have selected will now show under Archive date.
  4. Continue editing or click Save at the top right of the page.
To remove the archive date, click the garbage can icon beside the archive date.

To set a date to archive a file, click on the file title to open the File Editing Menu, click Edit properties to go into edit mode, and then follow the steps above.

To set a date to archive a folder, click the edit icon (a pencil) beside the folder name to go into edit mode, and then follow the steps above.

Delete a page

Remember that when you delete a page, any subpages, attached files or comments will also be deleted.

8.0User15620Delete.jpg
  1. Click the down arrow on the right of the page header to open the Page Controls.
  2. Click Delete.
  3. In the pop-up window that appears click Delete to confirm that you want to delete the page. Click Cancel if you didn't mean to delete the page.
  4. When you delete a page the intranet will complete the deletion and refresh your screen showing the page above the one you deleted.

Restore a page

If you need to bring back a page that you have archived or deleted, see How to restore or undelete a page.

Learn more: