Documentation

Activity

Configure Activity Cards

The Activity Card can show on the Home page, Profile pages, Group pages, and other pages. What Activity the Card shows varies depending on what type of page it is on, and settings that are controlled by the intranet administrator.

See Overview of Activity streams to learn the basics about Activity Cards. Pages that do not have Activity Cards on them have an Activity stream pop-up window available from the Page Controls.

Configuration settings for Activity Cards

Follow the instructions below to access and change configuration settings related to Activity Cards. See the headings below for descriptions of what each config settings controls.
  1. Go to the Administration panelAdvanced options section > Configuration settings page.
  2. Type microblog in the Search config settings field to narrow the config settings results.
  3. Find the desired config setting.
  4. Click in the Value column beside the config setting. Select the radio button for the value you want.
  5. Click Save.
microblog%20settings.png

Allow users to share updates

This configuration setting controls whether the Updates box appears on the homepage, group pages and profile pages - allowing users to share updates with everyone or with one of their groups.
  • Config setting: microBlog
    • True: Update box appears on homepage, group pages and profile pages
    • False: Update box does not appear on homepage, group pages and profile pages.

Allow users to share updates with everyone or with their groups

This configuration setting controls whether users can share updates with Everyone (all users) or not.
  • Config setting: microBlog.everyone
    • True: Everyone displays as an option in the Select a group menu in the Update box. Users can share an update with Everyone.
    • False: Everyone does not display as an option in the Select a group menu in the Update box. Users can only share updates with their Groups.
This configuration setting controls whether users can share updates with their Groups.
  • Config setting: microBlog.groups
    • True: Users' groups display as options in the Select a group menu in the Update box. Users can share updates with their Groups.
    • False: Users' groups do not display as options in the Select a group menu in the Update box. Users can only share updates with Everyone.

Allow users to send Messages to individual users

This configuration setting controls whether a user can send a Message to another user on that person's profile page.
  • Config setting: microBlog.individual
    • True: Users can send Messages to another user on that person's profile page.
    • False: Users cannot send Messages to other users.